NEW PODCAST LIVE NOW Reflecting on Stephen Hawking

The Qur’an and its Relationship to Torah and Judaism

16th January @ 17:00 - 18:00

Overview

We are delighted to share an event presented by one of our affiliates, Rick Sopher

The ASF Institute of Jewish Experience presents:

The Qur’an and its Relationship to Torah and Judaism

Rick Sopher will take us on an introductory exploration of the following questions:

Why does the Qur’an refer so extensively to the contents of the Torah? Are there differences between the way the Qur’an and the Torah tell the stories of Abraham, Moses, Joseph and other Biblical characters?

What does the Qur’an say about the Jews whom Muhammad encountered in his lifetime, especially in Medina between 622 CE and his death in 632 CE? Is the Qur’an anti-Jewish? Did the Islamic view of the Torah and Jews change over time?

How should verse 9:29 of the Qur’an and mentions of the dhimmi status of Jews be read? In the 1,300 years after the foundation of Islam, for Jews living in Muslim lands, did these verses act as a “humiliation” or as a “protection”?

Sunday, 16 January

@ 9AM PDT ◊ 12PM EST ◊ 5PM London ◊ 7PM Jerusalem ◊ 8PM Dubai


How to book

Click here to register.



Back to Events